Recessionals, Swivel Eyed Loons, Tea Parties, and Summer Soldiers

A sad but entirely valid essay. This sentence, toward the end, summarizes the situation well:

But we have become societies of chiselers, cheats and liars, and as long as we are we will accomplish little. If a man’s word is not his bond, he can never be trusted in any matter, great or small, and therefore he is useless, merely another mouth to feed without benefit.

Many in Government, as well as many who put them there, fit the description.

nebraskaenergyobserver

My friend, and Jessica’s co-author Chalcedon451 posted this morning in somber mood. I suspect I know the proximate cause, and have no reason to disagree. His post is titled Recessional? I find it a very good post, and suspect I understand the reason it appeared this morning. Nor do I disagree with him. He says that it is the first of a series, which I look forward to.

He quotes Kipling’s Recessional in his post

Far-called, our navies melt away;

   On dune and headland sinks the fire:   
Lo, all our pomp of yesterday
   Is one with Nineveh and Tyre!   
Judge of the Nations, spare us yet,   
Lest we forget—lest we forget!

Nemesis lay here, as he saw it:

If, drunk with sight of power, we loose   
   Wild tongues that have not Thee in awe,   
Such boastings as the Gentiles use,
   Or lesser breeds without the Law—
Lord God of Hosts…

View original post 806 more words

About danmillerinpanama

I was graduated from Yale University in 1963 with a B.A. in economics and from the University of Virginia School of law, where I was the notes editor of the Virginia Law Review in 1966. Following four years of active duty with the Army JAG Corps, with two tours in Korea, I entered private practice in Washington, D.C. specializing in communications law. I retired in 1996 to sail with my wife, Jeanie, on our sailboat Namaste to and in the Caribbean. In 2002, we settled in the Republic of Panama and live in a very rural area up in the mountains. I have contributed to Pajamas Media and Pajamas Tatler. In addition to my own blog, Dan Miller in Panama, I an an editor of Warsclerotic and contribute to China Daily Mail when I have something to write about North Korea.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Recessionals, Swivel Eyed Loons, Tea Parties, and Summer Soldiers

  1. --Rick says:

    Excellent posting. I came across it via another blog and chose to use a Press This form of reblogging [as a .org site, WordPress won’t allow me to reblog for some reason] to my readers. I agree, sadly, with your summation, but the truth is self-evident as you rightly point out.

Leave a Reply

