Venezuelan Government Tightens Noose Around Its Citizens

At least Chavez managed to convert a reasonably good situation into something far worse in a leisurely fashion. Maduro started out with a bad situation and, genius that he must be, made it far worse very quickly. How much worse must it get before he is replaced by a different but equally incompetent Chavista?

See also Daniel’s grand unified theory of Venezuelan politics. It is “applicable for no more than 48 hours until a new universe of crap and lies suddenly opens with new laws of political physics.” Sounds about right.

The Devil's Excrement

photo(33)Somewhere where I have been recently. Any guesses?

I know I have been absent for a while. First, I went to Caracas and did not leave in a very positive note after all of the events of the last few weeks, but more importantly, I am on my yearly biking junket somewhere in the world, but before it starts I have been stuffing myself with the required protein for the task ahead.

As for Venezuela, things are getting worse. Not only worse in the sense of current events, but also in the sense that the Maduro Government has decided to do away with all semblance of democracy and in one swipe, it has extended the tenure of the members of the Electoral Board indefinitely. Recall that their terms expired a year ago, but now the Supreme Cort, using the same lack of judicial basis that allowed Maduro to become President…

View original post 767 more words

About danmillerinpanama

I was graduated from Yale University in 1963 with a B.A. in economics and from the University of Virginia School of law, where I was the notes editor of the Virginia Law Review in 1966. Following four years of active duty with the Army JAG Corps, with two tours in Korea, I entered private practice in Washington, D.C. specializing in communications law. I retired in 1996 to sail with my wife, Jeanie, on our sailboat Namaste to and in the Caribbean. In 2002, we settled in the Republic of Panama and live in a very rural area up in the mountains. I have contributed to Pajamas Media and Pajamas Tatler. In addition to my own blog, Dan Miller in Panama, I an an editor of Warsclerotic and contribute to China Daily Mail when I have something to write about North Korea.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Venezuelan Government Tightens Noose Around Its Citizens

  1. Pingback: Venezuelan Government Tightens Noose Around Its Citizens | theThumpHouse

Leave a Reply

