Princess, my favorite dog, died today

Princess was eight years old and a wonderful companion. She had been declining, reviving and again declining for the past several months, despite substantial veterinary attention. Last night she refused to eat or drink and died at about 10:30 this morning.

Princess

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Princess is in the middle.

Princess became my favorite of all our dogs, past and present. She was attentive to my needs and concerned about me. As I became increasingly infirm with age and had difficulty descending the two steps to go from our house to my wife’s separate but adjacent art studio to activate our internet connection, Princess noticed my difficulty. She accompanied me to the steps and positioned herself at my side so that I could lean on her. Shortly thereafter, she noticed that I also had difficulty ascending the two steps to Jeanie’s art studio and positioned herself at the top for me to lean on. Despite her illness, Princess tried her best to do the same until a couple of days ago.

Jeanie and I will bury Princess later this afternoon next to the grave of Shadow, who died from the bite of a venomous snake in 2006; Shadow’s breeder gave Princess to us when we told her of Shadow’s death.

Shadow was also a wonderful pup and died at the very young age of three. Jeanie and I still grieve for her and her photo has long been the graphic on my computer desktop. Not a day passes when I do not look at her grave and wish her good morning or good afternoon. As soon as I figure out how to do it, I will put pictures of them both on my desktop.

Due to Princess’ death, I am more than a little disconsolate and hope that readers will excuse my absence for a day or two. Little beyond Princess’ death matters to me at this point and perhaps writing this may be something of a catharsis. After we bury Princess, I shall seek solace in a substantial tot or more of rum.

About danmillerinpanama

I was graduated from Yale University in 1963 with a B.A. in economics and from the University of Virginia School of law, where I was the notes editor of the Virginia Law Review in 1966. Following four years of active duty with the Army JAG Corps, with two tours in Korea, I entered private practice in Washington, D.C. specializing in communications law. I retired in 1996 to sail with my wife, Jeanie, on our sailboat Namaste to and in the Caribbean. In 2002, we settled in the Republic of Panama and live in a very rural area up in the mountains. I have contributed to Pajamas Media and Pajamas Tatler. In addition to my own blog, Dan Miller in Panama, I an an editor of Warsclerotic and contribute to China Daily Mail when I have something to write about North Korea.
This entry was posted in Death of my best friend and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to Princess, my favorite dog, died today

  1. Katherine says:

    A good dog is almost like an extension of your body; they still have free will and can be helpful or not, but they are great companions. I am sorry for your loss..

  2. Tom Carter says:

    Dan, my condolences to you and Jeanie. I was very sorry to hear of your loss.

  3. Larry says:

    I am sorry. I think I understand. I have nothing else to contribute.

  4. rightie says:

    My dog isn’t doing well either. She is 12 years old. My heart goes out to you.

  5. Peterpreising says:

    Dan and Jeanie My condolences for your loss of Princess, I’m sure a beloved family member. It is truly a spiritual connection that occurs between the human being, and any other being we love, and hold dear. Pete

    Sent from my iPod

  6. anneinpt says:

    I’m so sorry for your loss Dan. I wish I had the right words to comfort you. Please look after yourself and take care, and be glad that at least Princess is not suffering any more. Small comfort I know.

  7. I’m so very sorry hear of the passing of your Princess. I’ve been where you’re at many times over the years. Drink a toast or two or three to her. Take solace that she is no longer suffering.

  8. Paul H. Lemmen says:

    She’ll be waiting for you, just across the rainbow bridge Dan.

  9. Ken says:

    Sorry for your loss Dan. I lost one of my girls 2 weeks ago, so I know what you are feeling.

  10. Publius Huldah says:

    I am so sorry, Dan. Really. They burrow into our hearts. However! I am convinced that good dogs (and good cats, ducks, chickens, Guineas, goats, and such) are saved and that you will eventually – in the fulness of time – be reunited with your dear Princess. And she will be well!

  11. NEO says:

    Saddest news to come to me in many a day, Dan. There’s nothing better than a good dog.

    I’m sorry for your loss, and do take care, the rum will help, for a time anyway.

  12. EJK says:

    Sorry to hear that. 8 years old isnt very old

  13. MaddMedic says:

    Sorry for your loss.

  14. Mike says:

    I’m Sorry Dan. Very, very Sorry.

  15. joopklepzeiker says:

    Take your time Dan, we know the feeling, it is of there is tear out a peace of your hart.

    The unconditional love of a dog to his human friend is so special , hard to find between people.

  16. Sorry to hear of the loss of your friend.

Leave a Reply

